RSA Sheffield

RSA Sheffield Branch

David Warburton and Barry Cook, Iraq 1957

Annual Dinner


We meet on the first Thursday of each month at:
WO’s and SGT’s Mess
38th (City of Sheffield) Signal Regiment
Manor Top

Meetings start at 20.00 hours and last between 20 minutes and 1 hour depending on the business under discussion.

The Agenda for meetings include:

Confirmation of previous meetings
Matters arising
Treasurers report
Welfare report
Joint Council (all Sheffield Area ex-service associations can be represented on this committee) the joint council report is given by Walter Whiteley who attends all joint council meetings.
Branch website
Any other business

Join your local RSA

Membership of The RSA is open to any person – Regular, TA/Reserve, National Service, ATS, WRAC – who served with the Corps


Some of the earliest history of the Sheffield Branch of the Association is unclear, however the following is an explanation of the Branch history, as we know it.

1965 – The original branch was formed and met in the Three Cranes Hotel, Queen Street, Sheffield. After approximately two years the branch lapsed due to lack of interest.

1968 – The then Commanding Officer of 38th Signal Regiment, Lt Colonel John Francis advertised on Radio Sheffield to start a branch of the RSA. As a result of this broadcast the current branch was formed in 1968 they metin the ‘Jimmy Club’ at the old Barracks at Manor Top TA Centre.

1969 – The branch moved into the WO’s and SGT’s mess.

1978 – When the existing Barracks were constructed, the branch moved once more into the new WO’s and SGT’s mess where we still meet today.

The first Chairman of the branch was Fred Powell and the Secretary Frank Stockdale. These two members performed these duties until 1992 – a total of 26 years of service each.

Today – The welfare of members is taken very seriously and the Visiting Officer Bryan Green contacts members and where necessary visits those who are ill. The branch is always seeking to recruit new members. Any ex-Signaller reading this web page will be welcome.


President Colonel Toby Seymour
Vice President Ron Simmons
Gwen Wilkinson
Chairman David Warburton
Vice Chairmen Keith Moxon
Keith Bates
Secretary Gail Leach
Minute Secretary/Web Editor Keith Cleary
Welfare Co-ordinator Bryan Green
Standard Bearer Adrian Simmons
Treasurer Derrick Wilkinson

Get in touch

Contact Sheffield RSA

10 + 4 =